The Emblems

Since the Counties of Vaduz and the Lordship of Schellenberg were elevated to the status of an Imperial Principality in 1719, the coat of arms of the Princely House has been considered the large national coat of arms of Liechtenstein.

Since the extinction of the other lines of the family, the coat of arms has been used by all members of the Princely House of Liechtenstein.

The coat of arms has six motifs

  • The heart shield is the golden-red coat of arms of the Liechtenstein family.
  • The gold-crowned eagle refers to Silesia.
  • The diamond wreath stands for the Kuenringer coat of arms.
  • The red and silver coat of arms shows the Duchy of Troppau.
  • The black virgin eagle commemorates Prince Gundaker's first wife Agnes of East Frisia.
  • A golden hunting horn hanging from a golden cord in the lower tip of the coat of arms refers to the Duchy of Jägerndorf.

The small national coat of arms of Liechtenstein is the coat of arms of the Princely House.

Further information on this can be found in the Law on the Coat of Arms, Colours, Seals and Emblems of the Principality of Liechtenstein (Coat of Arms Act).